Port aux Basques Occupational Health and Safety Committee Wins Provincial Award

by Murray Hupman, Vice President of Operations

Marine Atlantic has a strong commitment to the safety of its employees and customers and this was demonstrated once again as the Port aux Basques Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) Committee was awarded the 2014 OHS Committee of the Year by the Newfoundland and Labrador Occupational Health and Safety Association.

This is the second time in less than five years that the efforts of the Port aux Basques OHS Committee have been recognized, taking home the same award in 2011.

Whether it is through training, root cause analysis, tool box talks, near miss reporting, or a focus on changing policy to enhance safety, Marine Atlantic’s OSH committees influence the actions of all employees and customers both on and off Marine Atlantic property. Through the principles of leadership, ownership and accountability, safety is paramount and placed above everything else.

A big congratulations to the Port aux Basques OSH committee members Eric Davis, Brad Matthews, Ross Skinner, Dave Stockley, Basil Taylor, Dave Mauger, Robert Horwood, Gwen Davis, Betty-Lynn Battiste, Bob Green, Tony Jeans, Tammy Buckhurst, Sharmaine Strickland, Dave Keats, Darryl Matthews and Carolann Keough for once again demonstrating what you do best, keeping people safe!